DAY NINE: INFJ personality type

let’s talk personality types. introverted? extroverted? unsure-troverted? if you know you myers-briggs type, share it!


6b7d9dd863473b2ec5a7660ee8c849cd

i have always been very interested in taking the myers-briggs test and knowing what my personality type is. am i introverted? extroverted? i had no idea. in choir growing up i frequently had solos at concerts and i loved doing them but after i finished the concert i was so drained and just wanted to avoid all the compliments from people. i had no idea why. i can strike up a conversation with pretty much everyone about something and am willing to engage in conversation…but i would rather stay home and watch movies than go to a party full of people. so who am i? introvert or extrovert? well, i didn’t take the actual myers–briggs test but i did take this free similar test, that bailey recommended, to find out.

i am an INFJ.

Introverted iNtuitive Feeling Judging

so…what the heck does that even mean? well…

the four letters describe four aspects of our personality

  1. how we receive our energy – from within ourselves (introverted) or from others (extroverted)
  2. how we take in information – do we use our five senses (sensing) or do we rely on our instincts (intuitive)
  3. how we tend to make decisions – based only on logic (thinking) or our own value system (feeling)
  4. how we deal with our environment – organized, scheduled, structured (judging) or flexible, diverse, casual (perceiving)

INFJ is known to be about 1% of the population, making it the rarest personality type.

cool huh? now i know that i’m not the only one that has strong feelings that i trust and make decisions off of.

i know that the things i was feeling and trying (very poorly) to explain to people about myself aren’t “weird”.

it explains my feelings with my career and goals in life. that i want to be well know but not for the fame or money, but so i can reach more people and help and inspire them.

it explains why i can connect with almost everyone i meet, but still am on the hunt for “the perfect BFF” who is authentic and has the same qualities and interests as me (which i need to not focus on and enjoy who i do meet).

it explains why i love spending quality time with people, but then need to retreat into my space and recharge.

it explains why if i stretch myself in too many directions and spend too much energy on outward things, i feel so stressed and sick and my body takes a toll.

it explains why i really hate pushy sales people and why i hate being a pushy salesperson when i worked retail.

it explains why i really hate any sort of criticism of myself (i’m working on it).

it explains why i am a perfectionist.

i have always known these things about myself just never knew a way to describe it. and i’ve rarely found people that are the same as me! now i’m going to make EVERYONE i know take this test and then i’ll be able to understand them more fully! honestly, i’m way too excited about this test guys…haha

and now i leave you with this link to 31 INFJ #problems from buzzfeed. its hilarious and so true!

now take the test and tell me your personality type! let’s get to know one another!

signature


Brave Love Blog

 

20 thoughts on “DAY NINE: INFJ personality type

  1. I am ISFJ, but so many of these things are true of me. I struggle with criticism but also with praise. I struggle to make friends on a face to face basis – I don’t do small talk 🙂

    Like

    1. You might be in the middle like me. I took a different test and came out with 2% S but this test i got 12% F. What was your percentage? They said if it is 5% or less then you can read the attributes of both and pick which you think you are more!
      But I definitely cannot stand small talk but I have to do it. It just feels so fake.

      Like

  2. I love that you included how your results are relevant to and clarified certain aspects of yourself. Self-awareness is such a positive thing! I’m loving learning more about everyone through this. 🙂

    Like

    1. it has been such a fun post to write! its cool because i have known these things about myself but its nice to have it all explained so nicely! i have loved getting to know others through their type too! i made my husband take the test too and he is a INFJ as well!

      Like

  3. Hia, fell asleep last night with the littles (loooooong day yesterday), so only just got a chance to read your wonderful post. So well explained! Had to chuckle at the ‘when you get to know me I just get weirder’ image!! (so me!)……it’s been so empowering for me to find out I’m an INFJ, it’s explained so much of how I behave and, importantly for me at this period in my life, how I react to situations. Can’t wait for your new post later today! Is it weird that we’ll feel we know each other really well after Blog-tember, yet we’ve never met?! (obviously not, we’re INFJs!!)

    Like

    1. hey helen! i’m glad i explained it well! i definitely like to my research about a subject so i can understand it and i saw quite a few people that didn’t explain it at all! it has been great for me to find out about my personality type and it just is great that i have a way to explain my weirdness! lol (well most of it) and i totally agree with you about feeling like i know everyone even though we’ve never met!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Gregory Smith

talk with me!

