Wardrobe Architect Challenge 2015

HELLO THERE!

I hope that this year is treating you AMAZINGLY and that you are remembering to write the right date on all your papers! I’ve surprisingly been doing well with that so far, haha! Guys, I am SO excited to tell you all about a new project going on!

Do you ever look at your closet full of clothes and feel like you have nothing to wear? Nothing that pops out at you and makes you feel absolutely great when you put it on? Well, I realized that’s how I’ve been feeling about my closet after I posted about my peplum top that I made. I freakin’ love that top! That outfit I wore made me feel so great!

After I had this revelation I decided that I am going to redo my whole wardrobe this year so that I love everything in it and it is all cohesive…and I want to make it myself so that I can control all the fabric choices and the fit of each garment. Not even a full week after this decision, I got an email saying that the Wardrobe Architect Challenge, created by the lovely Sarai  (the creator of Colette Patterns), has been re-vamped for 2015 and their head pattern designer, Kristin, is also going through the challenge on the Coletterie blog!

So what the heck is the Wardrobe Architect challenge?! The challenge is a complete style and lifestyle overhaul concerning your clothes and shopping habits! You go through the different worksheets and figure out your style and make a new wardrobe! you can even choose to stop buying clothing all-together and ONLY make things. I don’t think I am going to go that extreme but I do want a MOSTLY handmade wardrobe. BUT even if you don’t sew, it is a lot of fun going through the worksheets and finding out about your unique styles and tastes!

Anywho…Here is the schedule of what we are doing per month:

  • January – Find your core style and explore shapes
  • February – Clean out your closet and take inventory
  • March – Review and finalize your spring/summer sewing projects
  • April – Plan colors and shop for spring fabric
  • May & June – Sew for your spring/summer capsule wardrobe
  • July – Review and finalize your autumn/winter sewing projects
  • August – Plan colors and shop for autumn fabric
  • September & October – Sewing for your autumn/winter capsule wardrobe
  • November – Review and refine
  • December – Show off your wardrobe!

This month we are supposed to read and fill out all of the worksheets for weeks 1-4 of the challenge which focuses on finding your core style and shapes. I am going to be posting about my whole process week by week so you can follow along on my journey! This week I will be posting my answers for the first 2 weeks so that I can catch up and then after I catch up I will be posting once a week!

You can also follow along on my social media! I will mostly be updating my instagram and i will be making a pinterest board specifically for this challenge! If you follow along in those places you will be getting an even closer look as to what I am going through with this challenge!

wardrobe-architect-2015

I hope that you enjoy following along with this whole process with me here!

WISH ME LUCK!

cropped-cropped-cropped-signature1.jpg

27 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architect Challenge 2015

  1. I’m so glad I actually ‘know’ another blogger who is doing the Challenge, so we can exchange notes! I’ve been thinking, and pinteresting a lot this weekend, very interesting discovery process!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i feel the same! i’m so glad we can go through this together! i am planning on posting once a week along with the weeks in the challenge! i’m so excited!!
      i have definitely been pinteresting and filling out all those worksheets to the max!

      Like

  2. That sounds amazing and like a LOT of work, Then again, i know nothing of sewing so it all will sound like a lot of work to me I suppose haha. Anyway, good luck Britney! can’t wait to see your series of master pieces 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This sounds like an amazing idea! I only have hand stitching experience and am terrible (no really, I’ve had professionals tell me i am actually awful) with a sewing machine so I would never be able to do this. So I’m going to be doing a little bit of living vicariously through you as you embark on this challenge. I’m excited to see your progress!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i am sure with some practice (maybe A LOT) and the right material and pattern…you could totally sew on a machine. don’t give up!!!!
      i am glad you are along for the ride though darling! i will be posting once a week so stay tuned for the updates!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. you should definitely do it! it’s been so fun going through the worksheets and learning about my core style! i am not going to be as hardcore as others are about only having handmade. i am going to be MOSTLY handmade and the things i already have that i love are for sure going to stay!

      Liked by 1 person

talk with me!

