Star Wars Raglan / update a men’s graphic t-shirt

HELLO THERE!
I’m so excited to share with you a couple of my recent makes!!

For the first one:

I took a baggy men’s graphic t-shirt and turned it into a much cuter, fitted (but not too fitted) raglan t-shirt for me!
(and i also got my hair done, so tell me i’m pretty)

star wars wonderwoman

(wonder woman stance…or peter pan)

It really is super simple to do and you can customize the fit, which is perfect since all the graphic t-shirts i find that are made for women are pretty tiny, thin and clingy. not flattering at all for me.

If you want to do this as well, use this tutorial from Autumn of it’s always autumn for drafting your own t-shirt pattern from an existing one that fits you perfectly!
and then use this tutorial from her for turning it into a raglan style shirt!
and the awesome thing too is once you get your perfect tee pattern drafted, you can use it to make A ZILLION different versions like Autumn did (and like i am planning to do!)

The only things you need to get this done are:

– A men’s t-shirt that is really loose. (you don’t want one that fits you too tightly to begin with since it will be harder to adjust)
– a matching or contrasting fabric to use to make the sleeves and neck band
– ballpoint needle or stretch needle for your machine (it really does make a difference)
– thread, scissors, pins, sewing machine (ya know, regular sewing things)

After you have your supplies and your pattern drafted, you will use the body of the shirt pattern on the t-shirt and the sleeve pattern out of your sleeve fabric.

star wars front star wars back

The cool thing about drafting your own pattern is that you can make it EXACTLY how you want.
I wanted mine not too tight, not too loose. i wanted a scoop neckline, 3/4 length sleeves and a curved bottom hem.
Another cool thing about sewing is you can use whatever material you want!
I used a men’s tshirt because i love the star wars graphic! (i got it from target)


The second thing i have to show you:

A sassy, black and white cheetah print raglan top that i can wear to work!

cheetah top

I used the same pattern that i drafted before but made it with half sleeves and a straight bottom hem.

cheetah front cheetah back

I LOVE THE WAY THEY TURNED OUT

and because you are awesome and you read to the end, here are some bonus pictures…i obviously had fun with the lightsaber…

attack

come at me bro.

lightsaber

i look like a super hero in this one haha

the forceSO DRAMATIC

so what do you think? do they look legit? would you buy one?

cropped-cropped-cropped-signature1.jpg

57 thoughts on “Star Wars Raglan / update a men’s graphic t-shirt

  1. YOU’RE PRETTY. Haha you genuinley are, and I love the hair! It’s nice that the purple isn’t too bright, it blends great with the brown!
    And you need to come and make me clothes! I seriously don’t know how you do it. Both tops look like they’re stitched perfectly, I’d defintely pay for them! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha THANK YOU! I am loving my hair so much! It crazy how changing your hair changes your whole attitude.
      Dude, I want to make things and sell them online or something. I just need to figure out like how to do it lol

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve been thinking about it, that’s not the part that I have to figure out (well a little yes)
          I need to figure out what to make and sell. Would people actually buy my stuff?! I don’t even know haha

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Maybe try and sell thig locally first? I think you could make things like aprons to sell but if you wanted to make clothes you’d have to make one for yourself to display and then if anyone else wants one you’d have to get their measurements… I’m not sure eiher really!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Yeah I don’t want to make aprons, that’s not that fun for me lol
              I would want to make clothing but it would have to figure out how to make multiple sizes. I was thinking I could buy all the sizes in one style of shirt and then draft patterns for each size and then just use the measurements for the shirt to tell people how they would fit

              Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! lol The cheetah print fabric was so amazing to find! I wish i had more of it!
      I really love that I can wear this shirt to work and not look plain. (I have to wear all black with little pops of white, silver, or grey)

      Like

      1. Hia…those last photos are brilliant! You totally look like a model with your pose in the one where yours stood sideways with the light saber pointing in front of your face! Love your tops: brilliant! What a great idea to make one out of a mans tshirt! LOVE the idea! I also love the cheetah print one; really great choice of fabric! I have it on my to-do list for this weekend to go over those ‘wardrobe’ worksheets and to find a pattern to make the skirt from (with that material I told you I had)…..if it’s a simple-looking pattern, I might also end up *making* the skirt this weekend……you’ve totally inspired me to get sewing again!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Awwww you are too sweet! Thank you so much! I really like that photo too cause my hair looks cool haha
          I love making men’s shirts cuter!! I have quite a few more to do some things with!
          I’m excited that I have inspired you!! That is literally what I want to do with my life. I can’t wait to see what you make up!

          Like

  2. Omg I love these shirts!! I would so buy one from you! I especially love the one with the cheetah print sleeves. I love Raglan Tees. You’re are truly talented behind that sewing machine! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Nadine!! I love the way they turned out 🙂 I might shorten the sleeves on the Star Wars tee though…so I can wear it all summer! Lol and thank you for the compliment on my hair! I love the way it turned out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s quite clever! Once my mom gets her sewing machine fixed, I really want to learn how to make clothing, alter things and just know how to use a sewing machine in general. It’s a rare skill these days.
        You are welcome! It looks beautiful! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a tad jealous of the purple hint in your hair. I used to have purple chunks in my black-dyed hair in college (then I went pink) and it was AWESOME. Now I have a boring job with boring dress code expectations.

    I love the way your shirts turned out! I hear ya on the RTW shirts for girls. They cling all weird and only last a few washings before turning to dust. It’s SEW satisfying to have something you made that you can wear ALL THE TIME.

    AAARRRWUUUUGHRUUUUWRRRRRRR (Wookiee for “You’re beautiful!”) LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are extensions so I didn’t have to destroy my hair! I’m loving the purple so much! I kinda want my whole head purple…but I’m waiting till after my friend is married since I’m in her wedding.

      Thank you! I am going to be altering mine from now on lol normally i just get a fitted size but then it still is loose around he waist. Which is fine…but I want mine to be more flattering sometimes!

      Aaaaaraaaaugggghh ruuuuh
      (Wookie for “thank you!”) haha

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Omg love both tops!! The Star Wars one a little more because I just love Star Wars but the cheetah print one is so nice 🙂 I loved the pictures with you and the light saber, so cute! Yes you look very pretty with your new hair ❤ xoxooxo Janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Janet! I love that one a little more too because I love Star Wars! Haha I’m glad my crazy-ness with the photos have been enjoyed! I was obviously having so much fun taking them lol
      Thank you!! Lol I love my new hair 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love them both. But I love the last one better! So very chic! Omg, you’re so talented.

    I JUST realized your hair is black and purple and NOT brown like I thought it was. Oops. You look ravishing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Zareen! I’m glad you like it 🙂
      Haha yes my hair is different! It actually is brown not black, but it’s a dark brown. I think the lighting in the photo makes it look darker haha but yes I did add purple!! I love it so much

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Meet Britney

talk with me!

