CHATTY MONDAYS / project updates, cinderella, and feeling the love!

Hello there friend!

I am so overwhelmed by all the love, support and words of encouragement that I have received from all of you about my grandma passing away. It was definitely what I needed to hear (or read), that it will all get better and not to be too hard on myself about the small things right now. You have no idea how much it means to me. I feel so grateful to be in the blogging world and to have you all here with me. It’s the best thing ever. ♥

I am happy to report that I am doing much better! The fresh sting is gone and while I am still nursing the wound, I am not thinking about it constantly and not crying about it anymore.

I have cleaned up around the house a little, I did all the dishes and laundry, and I have started a few sewing projects! I am testing for a new pattern company for their first pattern, I am working on a dress for a lovely gal, and I am working on some cute little things that I am wanting to sell in an online store! I can’t talk too much about them because they are in the very early stages! Just know that I am excited and you should be too for when I get to share them with you!

I read this amazing post from the Coletterie about “How to Prevent DIY Anxiety” which was great in helping me calm down about botching a refashion project I worked on a few weeks ago and not letting it get to me. You should totally read it.

As far as the Wardrobe Architect challenge, in the month of March we are supposed to be planning what items we need in our wardrobes by identifying the holes in our closets. Then, we are supposed to decide which items to buy and what patterns to use for the ones we will make! This is a little difficult for me considering I didn’t do too well with February’s task of clearing out my closet.

I don’t love most of what’s in my closet and the things that I do like, I only moderately like and it’s because they are the things that fit me! So clearing it out was very stressful!! Honestly, I feel like I need a whole new wardrobe! Needless to say, that will not be happening anytime soon (or even by the end of this year!) I will just have to prioritize what I need in my closet the most and work my way down the list. So, in the next couple weeks I will have a post up listing all the things I need/want to buy/make!

Something else that I am working on is eating healthier and exercising. I’m so tired of feeling tired and bloated and huge. So tired of it. So I am recommitting to eating as healthy as I can and I am going to try and workout 5 days a week (and hopefully end up doing at least 3 days). I used to be so good and then I got lazy and now I am at a place I don’t want to be anymore. Wish me luck please! And if you have any advice feel free to share it!

I went on a fun date night with my husband to go to see the new Cinderella movie! It was soooo gooood!! AND OMG ALL THE DRESSES WERE AMAZING. AND THE HAIR AND MAKEUP WAS AMAZING. I WANT ALL THE POOFY FLOWY TWIRLY DRESSES! AND I WANT TINY RHINESTONES ALL OVER MY HAIR. CAN I PLEASE JUST GO TO A BALL?!

cinderella-lily-james2 cinderella-lily-james-1 0b1503c7ec39df4817899a7772736a40

Even the dress she wears to clean the house…I WANT IT.

cinderella-lily-james-cate-blanchett-2 cinderella-lily-james-cate-blanchett

So how was your week? Do anything fun?
Have any projects going on? Let’s Chat!

signature

59 thoughts on “CHATTY MONDAYS / project updates, cinderella, and feeling the love!

  1. Love these posts of yours! Just the perfect type of posts for you to let your personality shine through! So glad you’re feeling better about your loss…..and so so happy to hear about all the developments on the ‘crafty career’ front! I’m waiting to go to the cinema with my daughter to see Cinderella (I think I’m actually more excited than she is; we’re going with three of her friends, all of whom will wear their Princess costumes; can’t wait to see how very very cute they’ll all be!)…..the actress who plays Cinderella is so stunningly beautiful, isn’t she? And everyone I know who’s been to see it says they want to go again because there was just too much detail and sumptuousness to take in in one viewing…..I can’t wait to see it!!!! Here’s to a great week for you xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. awww thanks helen! I’m glad someone enjoys them! They aren’t hard for me to write since i can blabber on for days and days lol
      I would love to see it again! It really is rich in detail. It’s basically the same story line as the original but is so wonderfully embellished! those girls will look so cute!!
      I hope you have a fabulous week too!

      Like

  2. I’m so sorry to hear the passing of your grandma! I’m glad you’re doing better though! Yayyy 🙂 eating healthy can be a struggle. I find it hard when there’s so much good food with the extra calories! During the Summer, it should be easier to exercise it at least eat healthier when it gets hot out 🌞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. awww thank you so much. I’m glad i’m better too!
      Eating healthy is a huge struggle. i am just so lazy! but usually when i work out i don’t eat badly that day because i don’t want to ruin what i did lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so glad to hear that you’re doing much better Britney. I also am very excited to hear that you are making some things for on online store. I can’t wait to see that! I know what you mean about exercising and stuff, I really need to get my butt in gear and do something. It’s just hard for me with my pain issues so I just really need to buckle down on my diet. I seemed to have gained a lot of weight recently and don’t feel very good about myself either. :-/ I really want to see the Cinderella movie so bad. Maybe I can talk Ron into taking me. We’ll see lol. Anyway, keep up the good work and try to take things one day at a time. 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Katie! I hope others like what i’m making and want to buy them! EEEE!
      I’m sure it’s even more difficult for you because of the pain. i’m just lazy and not very good at working out now because i haven’t been you know?
      You really should see the movie!! its’ so good!!

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Lol That’s a good idea! Though I already told him I want to go see Cinderella and he said he would think about it haha. He is good to me and he will probably take me soon. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

                1. Brodie and I are going to see insurgent on Thursday!! I’m excited to see that one! We go to the movies a lot lol we don’t spend much time together and when we do we don’t want to do anything crazy because we are both tired lol so we love to go to the movies!

                  Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow it sounds like you’ve been busy – sewing, crafting, working out. Fun! I’m intrigued by this whole “I’m making things for an online shop” thing. Very curious to see what you’re doing!

    You have the right attitude about working out. You should want to feel better and healthier for sure! I’m getting back into working out regularly again after a shoulder injury and it’s really helping with stress and overall happiness. I don’t know if you belong to a gym or not but I find going to exercise classes helps. The energy of the room and each other really helps push you to work harder than you would on your own. I also recommend taking the Les Mills brand classes, if your gym offers it (Body Pump, Body Combat, Body Flow, RPM, Body Attack, etc.). I do Body Pump – it’s a total body moderate-weight lifting class and it’s where I see the most results (besides running which is not so fun at times…). Plus, my mom teaches some Les Mills classes back home in New Orleans, so it’s kind of her fault I’m obsessed.

    Anyhoo, I’m glad you had a fun date night! The only exciting bit of my week/weekend was meeting Amy Tan (author of the Joy Luck Club) at a book festival in Tucson. She’s one of my favorite authors and I’ve read all of her books, so I’m pretty stoked about meeting her!

    Whoah this comment is getting crazy long. I’m enjoying your Chatty Monday posts and look forward to some more in the weeks to come! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am totally pleased with you really long comment!! this is what i wanted to happen with my chatty mondays! lol
      I am excited to share what i have been making! but just want to wait til everything is finished and photographed and such.
      i have heard great things about those body pump classes, but i don’t have a gym membership! i have way too much anxiety with new things surrounded by a bunch of people i don’t know that i don’t want to look at me do anything! lol maybe if i found someone to go with but for now i am doing some workout videos from fitnessblender.com
      they are pretty cool! and i have free weights at home so i do those as well.
      that’s really cool that you met her!! i would have been so excited too! maybe i need to read those books!
      I can’t wait to talk with you next week too RED!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. First, I am so so sorry to hear of your grandmother’s passing.
    😦
    It will be ten years this summer that mine passed away and I still miss her. I guess I’d have to say that it definitely does get easier, but there is always that piece missing, depending on the type of relationship.
    On a better note…I am glad to hear so many positive and even glowing reviews for Cinderella because I was never a fan of the story. I preferred Sleeping Beauty, but this one intrigued me for some reason. I think I love the cast and film makers and can’t wait to see how it is all presented. Going later this week and will write a review on my own blog.
    Have a good week and good luck with everything you are working on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you darling. I’m sorry to hear about your grandma…I’m glad it gets better but I totally understand what you are meaning by a piece will be missing.
      You should definitely see this one! I was never a huge fan of the original one but i love the way they have redone it! It’s beautiful to look at and I’m glad they didn’t change the story, just embellished it.
      I look forward to reading your review!
      I hope you have a good week as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh I’m so glad you’ve picked up sewing again 🙂 I haven’t sewn for a while because all my time has been spent preparing for an interview I have today :S
    I really want to see Cinderella… Wow her corset!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m glad to see that you’re feeling a little better. I’m so sorry for your loss–grandparents can be very, very special parts of our lives, and it’s even more difficult when you have that kind of bond with them as a grown-up. I was very fortunate to have all of my grandparents until I was 21, and the first one we lost was the one I was closest to–my dad’s mom–and so I really related to your post last week and your grief at the loss of that special relationship. Internet hugs to you if you want them. =)

    Good luck with your wardrobe planning! I admire you for sticking with it (I cannot be bothered to keep to a schedule, LOL) and can’t wait to see how you progress and what you make. I have no helpful advice for working out, but I wish you the best! Pedometers are a great tool for seeing how many steps you take during your regular routine, and I’ve heard that having a workout buddy (or joining a group) helps with sticking to it.

    Like

    1. That’s exactly how it happened with me. My grandama was the one I was closest to and all my other grandparents are still alive. I’ll take all the internet hugs!! Lol
      Thank you for the luck! Lol I hope a can make a dent in it by the end of the year.
      I wish I could find a workout buddy but all my friends that do work out live far from me!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I was so glad to see you use the word “recommitting” when discussing your health goals. For me, there’s an important distinction between the concept of committing to a healthier life and that of going on a diet. Diets are temporary, but our bodies have to last our whole lives, and committing to good health is no different from any other commitment we make. If it’s important to you, you honor that commitment and prioritize that commitment ahead of other, less important things. At least, that’s how I think of it. Maybe it would feel great to lay on the couch and eat cheetos for once, but that doesn’t honor my commitment any more than cheating would honor my commitment to marriage vows. Yes, I’m married to my body, for better for worse, lol!

    Theresa

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And you’ve been married to your body long we than to a spouse! Lol yes I am trying very hard to be focused on health and how I feel. I would like to lose weight but I know I shouldn’t focus on that. And I want this to be a lifelong goal of health.

      Like

  9. miss brit! I’m so so so glad you’re feeling a bit better. I laughed out loud when you wrote “working out five days a week, hoping for three” that’s my girl. I just had a moment like that too. I took “before” photos because a friend of mine started working out and showed me her progress photos. who knew eating healthy and exercising actually works?!!? I might post about it, but I over did it, and now have a sore bum and leg muscles. so i’m going to pace myself!

    I haven’t seen Cinderella yet! My mom went opening night. she took someone else’s children so she didn’t look out of place. yup, that’s my momma. she said it was amazing. I’m loving all the merch and advertising for this movie. the MAC collection? beautiful. a little too fair for me, but I can still see the pretty pretty packaging and lust over it (I ain’t buyin’ it, too expense. Covergirl please and thank you!)

    Love chatty Mondays! xo

    Like

    1. I’m glad I’m feeling better too 🙂
      I’m glad you can relate!! Hahah I just know me and my laziness so if I shoot for that many days, sometimes it will happen but I will at east do three or four haha
      I took before photos a while ago and I just never remember to take progress ones…I know that my body is changing even though the scale is not…but I just forget. I was thinking I should take measurements too and continually take those.
      I would love to read your post about your fitness!!
      Lol I went with my husband. I really don’t care about seeing kids movies without any kids. I just don’t care anymore lol
      And yes!! Did you see Lauren Conrad’s Cinderella collection at Kohl’s?! Poofy tutu skirts and embellished tops!! *sigh*
      So amazingly cute! And yes I am admiring the Mac from afar as well haha
      I’m glad you are loving chatty Monday’s!! I am loving them too!

      Like

  10. I’m very glad you’re feeling better. 🙂

    On the subject of eating healthily, I started this year with the 90-days diet, or so it’s called. According to me, it’s not a real diet. I did it because I wanted to try and give my body the boost it needed and to eat better, and on a second place, there were those 10 lbs I wanted to lose that were hard to shake. For me, this wasn’t a diet, it was a totally sane food regime, I still got to eat and not starve, my body loved it and I lost those 10 lbs. Moreover, I figured out which foods I should steer clear from, i.e. on the second day one should eat beans, peas, other legumes, taters, rice – all in all, starchy foods. I found that day the most difficult to go through because all I gave my stomach was starchy, and I most definitely have a problem with that kind of food. I started bloating, my peristalsis got slower and lazier and my body didn’t have a positive response to all I had to eat in day two. So I decided to eat as little as I could, and I stuck to the legumes because potatoes and rice made me a walking floatation device.
    I did go to gym religiously for six months last year but I got lazy, and I’m waiting for spring to arrive and to feel the energy to start again. (excuses, excuses) I got seriously hooked back then, it was so good! I’m wondering when will I throw away my winter layers, buck up and start working out again.
    Good luck to you!
    xo, Sylvia

    Like

    1. I’ve never heard of the 90 days diet thing. What are you supposed to do? I feel that way about starchy foods too. I try to mostly eat veggies m, fruit and protein. Trying to only have a little bit of starchy foods, sugar and dairy. It’s hard though because I love any form of fried potatoes!! I just have no self control. That’s my main problem. Food tastes good so I just want to keep eating and eating and then I feel super bloated and gross. So hopefully I will be able to find something to stick to and not just have the goal of “eat healthy” because I obviously don’t know how to do that lol

      Like

  11. Cinderella looks like a beautiful movie. I think I’m going to drag hubby to see it this weekend with me. I’m excited. Those dresses are really pretty. Kudos to you for getting your jive back. You’re doing awesomely, Britney.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I am so happy to hear that you are feeling better!!!!!! And excited for blog posts!!! I want to see Cinderella, but my husband is not really up to taking me! Guess I’ll have to wait until the movie comes out to rent. Maybe next year you could recreate her dress for Halloween!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG I WOULD LOVE TO WEAR HER DRESS. This year though I thought about being black widow because I super love her and have always wanted to!
      You really should see Cinderella!!! It’s soooo good!!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. That would be the coolest thing ever!! Lol but I don’t know if I would actually get any business considering there are other shops that make legit looking costumes as well and they aren’t priced terribly

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I know what you mean, that’s how I feel about ALL my projects. Everyone always says I should sell them, but I don’t think I’d get any business…or enough to make it worthwhile. I guess you’ll just have to start out with us! 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  13. Sorry to hear about your loss. My condolences……but glad to know that you are getting back to a happier place. I look forward to seeing your sewing project. Thanks so much for sharing yourself with us. You give me and other’s the courage to do the same. Great post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. So glad to hear you’re doing better 🙂 It takes time, but you’ll get there! Clearing up wardrobes is always stressful but I find you feel so serene once it’s all done and you’ve got everything you’ve wanted! I can relate with wanting to feel healthier and exercise more…..I was quite fit, then due to insane work schedules, I just couldn’t train anyone and didn’t eat well. It takes a while to get back on track but in a few weeks you’ll manage to make a routine out of it. What works for me is not trying to be such a perfectionist about it – instead of saying I will exercise nearly every day in the beginning, I try to commit to 2-3 a week for a while, and if I eat something I shouldn’t, I try not to make it feel like it’s the end of the world 🙂 Good luck xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know that I will be so happy once I have some good things on there but for now it is sad to look at my wardrobe! Lol
      It sucks how life and being busy can make other things so hard. I’m not being TOO hard on myself but trying to make good choices a majority of the time!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. So glad to hear you are doing better. And I think it’s great that you are wanting to get healthy. I’ve been where you are and I’ve done A LOT of research and if you are open to some unconventional but science based advice on achieving fat loss I would recommend checking out this podcast: https://jassafit.com/category/podcasts/. I have been listening to them for a couple of years now and they’ve really helped me with my health. I recommend it to everyone. I feel the conventional wisdom of losing weight isn’t sustainable and so many end up “failing” but what they encourage is based on newer research. It’s very eye opening. They are trainers and have a lot of success with their clients and they just came out with a product (ebook) too. Anyway, just wanted to pass that along. And hope you continue to feel better and reach your goals.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Hi Britney,

    Sorry about your loss. ;( It’s one of those things I never know what to say. Just cherish all your memories and keep them close and live your life to the fullest.

    I’m cheering you on with your fitness goals! 🙂 Because I need to start back on mine. Stay strong,

    The World of Cos

    Liked by 1 person

talk with me!

