Gilded Graphic Tee with Revamp, Amor!

Hey there friends!

I’m so excited to share an AMAZING guest post from Samantha at Revamp, Amor today!

On her blog you can find everything from fashion to home decor inspiration, DIY and art…It really is chock full of things that will get your creative wheels turning!
You already know my love of the t-shirt (especially one with a super cute graphic on it) So, The two of us decided to share two different tutorials showing how to take your comfy, plain t-shirt and turn it into something truly magical with a little DIY!

You can see my tutorial for a stenciling
technique on her blog RIGHT HERE!
Without further ado, here is Samantha’s tutorial for you!


 

1

Hello!  It’s Samantha from Revamp, Amor!  I’m happy to stop by All Things Britney Lee & share a super simple DIY t-shirt.  I LOVE a fabulous graphic t-shirt.  They offer comfort & style all in one simple, easy to care for piece.   With this in mind, I set out to make an oversized, uni-sex tee look fabulous & stylish.  The final result: a gold-foiled, geometric t-shirt that pairs perfectly with leggings & flats but also with patent leather heels.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

MATERIALS

giant t-shirt
gel medium (available at any arts supply store)
gold foil
iron

HOW TO

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

1.  Pre wash your shirt!  Place your shirt out flat & decide what design you would like.  I chose a triangle, but you could do a stripe, dots or even a word.  Draw on your shape with a thin sharpie in a neutral color.  *Use a ruler for a straight edge.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

2. Using your finger or a sponge brush apply the gel medium to the lines you marked.  You don’t want it to be too thick!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

3.  GENTLY press the gold leafing into the gel medium.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

4. Let dry overnight.  Press the design with a pressing cloth between the shirt and the iron.  Gently rub away the excess foil.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

That’s it!  Go be fabulously comfortable!

I wore my shirt to dinner last night & felt uber cool!

Thanks for reading & hop over to Revamp, Amor to see more DIYs.

XOXO

Samantha


I hope you enjoyed her tutorial! I know I sure did, and I CANNOT WAIT to use this foiling technique on one of my plain t-shirts!!

Don’t forget to hop on over to her blog to see my tutorial there and tell me what you think!

signature

 

30 thoughts on “Gilded Graphic Tee with Revamp, Amor!

  1. This is an awesome new technique to learn! I never thought of that. Great tutorial, and imagine the possibilities – stenciling around could be very addictive!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know right? The gold foil is really genius! Samantha blew my mind with this guest post! I want to try doing the technique I showed on her blog and this one TOGETHER and I’m sure it will be magical!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hia….how DID I miss this post?! Love the technique and my son is a HUGE fan of the Baymax film (can’t remember what it’s called in English), so I’m definitely going to be making him one of the Baymax tees…..so cool! Does the paint stay on when it’s washed? …trying to leave a comment on Revamp, Amor but can’t 😦 …….LOVED both techniques….thanks so much!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! I don’t know how you missed it haha I love big hero 6 too! I haven’t washed the shirt yet but I’m sure it will
      Hold up. Just maybe get a little faded, more vintage-y

      Like

        1. I have been super busy too!! Oh my goodness lol
          I got another job! So now I have two and I’m exhausted haha and I need to be better at planning and executing the writing of blog posts! I need to start writing them and scheduling them the week before they go live. And I’m trying to come up with more things to do besides just chatting!

          Like

talk with me!

