fourteen / 5 books

The blog-tember challenge is a fun, daily blogging challenge created by the
lovely Bailey Jean of Brave Love blog.
Today is DAY FOURTEEN: The 5 books that have impacted your life the most.


books

I’m going to be completely honest.

I haven’t read many books in my life so far.
It’s not because I don’t love reading, because I totally do love it!! It’s just so hard for me to pick what to read. I’m such a perfectionist in life, and I hate wasting time because there are so many things I want to do with it, so picking a book blindly out of the MILLIONS of books is an impossible feat.

How do you even decide what to read?
How do you know if you’ll like it?

As of now in my life, I’ve only read books when I knew a movie was being made, with the exceptions being the books I was assigned in school, the Harry Potter series and The Host. I figure that if there’s a movie, the book must be good! It hasn’t let me down yet!

So I’m going to list some books I’ve enjoyed reading, instead of the most impactful.

Harry Potter series
My Grandma got me my first Harry Potter book, and then every year I would get the new book for my birthday! This series made me love reading because of all the magical-ness!

The Host
This book was recommended to me by my best friend in high school because it’s one of her favorites! It starts out a little slow but only because you don’t really know whats happening, but then it’s SO GOOD!! I’ve read this book so many times, it’s my favorite book as of now. The movie is not good though…

The Hunger Games series
I started reading these books because my husband read them all and he loved them. I also experimented with reading the book AFTER seeing the movie. Usually I read the book before and then sometimes I’m disappointed with the movie! Well I really like the books and movies so maybe they just did really well lol

Divergent series
I also read this one because there were going to be movies. I liked reading this series a lot, but I started losing interest in the third book part of the way through…I had to start up again a couple times to get through it lol

 

So now, I repeat my questions:
How do you even decide what to read?
How do you know if you’ll like it?!

signature


Brave Love Blog

8 thoughts on “fourteen / 5 books

  1. Oh my….that image is so so wonderful….LOVE IT!!! Would so love a copy for my bedroom!!!!! Oh my, how do I decide what to read? I really started reading *a lot* when I went off to University…..I went to the nearest second hand store and started with the classics….got to know the owner well who ‘guided’ my reading for a year or so (i.e., helped me choose good ones that I could afford from the **piles** of stuff he had! After a while, he took pity on me, I think, and started lending me books like a library!). Then I started to get a feel for what I liked and didn’t. Then I started reading reviews (newspaper; this was before Google, baby!)…..and branching out in to more modern fiction…..I’d recommend the same approach….you can use all sorts of online ‘tools’ now – Goodreads has good recommendations for ‘books you might like’ based on ones you’ve already liked (as does Amazon)…..How do I know if I’ll like it? I often don’t, but I don’t like wasting money so I definitely check out the reviews online before I commit to buying (or asking someone to buy for me, as has been the case for the last few years; thanks, forever and always, Mum xxx)…..some things I think you might like….for starters…..’Me before You’ by Jojo Moyes (beautiful….so so so so beautiful)….and John Green’s ‘The fault in our stars’…..(yep, it’s BETTER than all the hype would suggest)…I’m **absolutely sure** you’d love them both….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm ok I’ll look into those books. And I’m going to have to get Goodreads because that sounds perfect for recommending books!
      I might get a library card too or something so I can just borrow books instead of buy them at first.

      Like

  2. I read basically everything I can get my hands on! haha. My favorite books to read are ones that are well-written and have well-developed plots and characters. (This means I read a lot of literary fiction.) I also enjoy memoirs and faith-based nonfiction.

    Beyond that, I tend to decide what to read based on the recommendations of people whose reading taste I respect and admire. My friend Annie, for instance, is one of my go-to people for book recs. If Annie recommends a book, it’s pretty certain to be worth my while!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm I need to find someone with the same taste that I do! My best friend (who moved away now) recommended one of my favorite books to me so maybe I should ask her more

      Like

talk with me!

