seventeen / latest obsession

The blog-tember challenge is a fun, daily blogging challenge created by the
lovely Bailey Jean of Brave Love blog.
Today is DAY SEVENTEEN: Just for fun, your latest obsession. What can you not get enough of these days?


 

closet

I don’t have any NEW obsessions…
but I’m getting re-obsessed with capsule wardrobes.

Capsule wardrobes aren’t a new thing by any means…but when Caroline of Un-Fancy announced in April that she was stepping away from her blog for the moment, I got sad and ended up binge-reading all her posts from day one to the last one!
I’ve been so unhappy with my wardrobe lately because I feel like my style has changed, my clothes are getting worn out, and my body shape and the things I’m comfortable wearing has changed.
I’ve been adding things in slowly, to enhance my wardrobe but I also don’t want to have to worry too much about what I’m putting on. I just want everything to go together!! It takes entirely too long to get dressed a lot of the time and I’m not happy about that.

enter in: the capsule wardrobe

If you’re wondering what the heck even is a capsule wardrobe then read this.
Caroline explains it so well, and that’s exactly what I want mine to be and do for me. I want to have a structured system that helps me have clothes for every season and situation, without having so much excess that I don’t even wear! Everything in my closet I should love.

For some reason, this time around reading all about how to have a capsule wardrobe, I feel like it’s attainable. I went through my closet at the beginning of the year with the wardrobe architect challenge and kinda had a freak out moment , so I didn’t do much after that. Now I am hoping to re-evaluate and re-plan. It’s not as scary anymore, so I’m excited!

Have you ever tried a capsule wardrobe?
Did it work for you? Or was it not a good fit?

signature


Brave Love Blog

14 thoughts on “seventeen / latest obsession

  1. Hi Britney,

    Even though Unfancy is a recent discovery for me, I too was disappointed to learn Caroline was shutting down shop (at least temporarily).

    I love the idea of capsule wardrobes. The emphasis on “curating” an ideal closet, ensuring that new purchases compliment your existing wardrobe, and making outfit coordination effortless, are all style principles I believe in. At the same time, I think women can employ these key principles without conforming any extreme rules or limitations sometimes associated with the “capsule” concept.

    For example, you can embrace the principle of a streamlined closet without EVERY top coordinating with EVERY bottom, provided the top works with MANY bottoms and will be an asset to your current collection.

    Having said all that, I’m attracted the writings of those experimenting with more extreme approaches because I think they help snap us out of the mass consumption paradigm. That’s why this season (August – end of December) I’ve committed to only buying five new pieces. It isn’t because six pieces would be indulgent, but because I want to push my selectivity to an extreme to determine if a very limited amount of exquisite pieces provides greater satisfaction that a limitless amount of average ones (I think it will).

    Overall, I think it’s great that fashion-conscious women are moving towards a more sustainable approach to style!

    Lesley, workinglook.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree with you that there is a way to make it work without conforming to some else’s rigid rules, I just need something extreme and measurable to get out of this rut, and then over time I’m going to change it to fit my lifestyle.
      As of now, I think I’m going to have to have two capsules, one for work and one for everything else.
      I am also just as excited because it’s kind of a “start fresh” that I can use my existing things for.
      I just really love Caroline’s viewpoint as well! I feel the same about the capsule wardrobe that she does!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugh I totally do that too!!! That’s why I want to do this, I never know what to wear because things don’t go together, or they don’t fit, or whatever and then whatever I don’t wear gets put in a pile on my floor and then I’ll never find it again lol

      Like

  2. I don’t have a capsule wardrobe but since we completely redid our master bedroom last year, we have new built in wardrobes which provides so much hanging and shelf space. I can keep everything segmented so all my work clothes are together and then casual day stuff, fancy night items (not too many of those) and then a random selection of other items. It certainly makes getting dressed easier and also clothes don’t come out creased where they’ve been squashed together!

    When i hit my goal weight, hubby has promised me a completely new wardrobe of clothes and i’ll be taking advantage of a personal shopper!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! When we moved last year I got a walk in closet all to myself and it’s great! I still have the problem that my clothes don’t fit, or they are so old I don’t like them lol I just need to re-vamp my clothes!! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am recently getting tired of my current wardrobe. I’ve had so many things for so long. I have read a bit about and seen lots of posts on capsule wardrobes. Definitely something worth looking into.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aarrgggh….this is one of those ‘things’ that I totally know I should do, and would absolutely love to know more about….but I don’t have time to read it all….I need a v-log about this, Britney….so I can watch it (eerrr-hhmm…*you*) tell me all about this and how to do it….(!!!!)……it interests me so much, and I *love* the idea of having the kind of closet where you can just open it up and make a million really cool outfit combinations from just a few key pieces….but I’m definitely miles away from attaining that (or even understanding it)…… 😦 [Just the picture you used has me salivating, imaging having a wardrobe like that….]

    Liked by 1 person

talk with me!

